top of page

Self-Canibalism by Clare

I don’t self harm, but

When my mind gets too loud and the stress of life convinces my hands to cope in the only way they know how, I start from the outer corner and work my way to the center, pulling each individual eyelash out, leaving my eyelid bald and tender like a newborn babe.


It has become accepted in today’s society to participate in acts of self cannibalism. 30% of the world's population chews on their fingernails and peels their skin away as if it was christmas day and under their skin was a gift they just couldn't wait to open, but inside was disappointingly, the same old socks that you got last year, and the year before.


In my stomach you'd find the pills my doctor told me would stop all of this, chunks of skin, pulled eyelashes, cut nails, bloody scabs, and the lump in my throat that I swallow every morning.

I’m afraid of what will happen to me when I run out of nails to cut and hair to pull.

What's next? How long do we have to wait before someone takes a bite out of their arm just because their boss laid them off.


The human bite is the most likely to get infected out of any other mammal because of the bacteria found within the saliva. Despite centuries of evolution shrinking the size of human teeth, it's the microscopic bacteria invisible to the human eye that makes it the deadliest. Life is like this, you are taught to stay away from things with sharp teeth, but the perfectly straight smile will sneak up on you, seep into your skin, spread through your blood, and kill you in your sleep.


6 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page