top of page

Was it a Dream?

My grandad's farm is usually lively. Bright colours from the animal barn. Blotches of black on the cow's fur. Orange bellies on the robins. But today looked off. Everything was muted in colour, like out of a 1920s depiction. When I went outside to do my usual routine the animals looked agitated. Like, in shock, almost as if they saw something I couldn't. I carried on doing my routine and gathering hay in the dark musty barn. Planting corn seeds in the dewy dirt. But it flashed before my eyes because I was just stuck on what was happening. Why was this happening, or worse who was making this happen?

The next day it got damper, foggier, creepier. Doing my usual routine, it again flashed before my eyes, thinking about what was happening. But this morning was different. When I stepped out of the barn, a green glow flashed in the distance. It happened so suddenly that I thought my mind was playing tricks on me. Later it flashed again, but this time I know what I saw. Ignoring all the instincts I had, I went to investigate.

Moving closer to where I saw the green aura, I finally saw it, not flashing but still a vivid muted luminance behind the tree. Before I knew it, I grabbed my shovel and started sprinting toward what I saw. Rubbing my eyes to make sure it was real. When I arrived at the tree, it was gone. Then I felt a warm tingle on my back and heard a slow ripping noise from my shirt. My feet slowly lifted off the ground and I saw my life flashing before my eyes. Then I woke up on my kitchen floor with the feeling it was all a dream...but I still had a slash in my shirt.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page