top of page

Let The Westing Games Begin by Zaahid

Sunset towers is a mysterious place. This morning was when it started. I was up early to go for a walk on the grounds. I was happy as I could be and was going for a coffee from Theo’s coffee shop. Theo is very nice but can sometimes get a bit lost in his thoughts. His coffee is amazing though. Anyways, I was walking around when I saw firelight in one of the Westing houses windows. It was near the top and I could just make out the fiery glow behind the violet hanging sheets.


I was fascinated. According to Theo, Mr Westing (the man that had lived there) was dead. No-one had lived in the house for 15 years. I knew I shouldn’t do anything stupid but my curiosity got the better of me so I finished my coffee and walked over to the house. Although it's relatively close to Sunset Towers, it was still a far walk and when I got there the sun was out and I had to duck under the shade of the trees. I was now right next to the grand gates. The fiery light was dimmer now but definitely still there.





The gates were huge and I wondered wether I might be able to squeeze through them. I mean I knew it was trespassing, but so was the person in the house. I crept into the gate and carefully squashed myself through before tip toeing to the door of the mansion. I gently pushed it open and the large French doors creaked open just enough for me to squeeze through. I was beginning to get friend. The abandoned house was full of cobwebs, blood stains and dead animals lying everywhere. I crept further and gently climbed the velvet staircase up to the room where I saw the light. I found the door wide open and then tip toed inside. Someone had definitely been here recently. However, it was what I saw on a small wooden table that scared me most. A charred letter written in ink sat upon a velvet cushion. More alarmingly, sitting next to it was a large bomb with the words 'Let The Games Begin' written in blood across it.


I had to act fast if I didn’t want to be blown up. It was already to late to defuse the bomb and the timer read 1 minute. I knew the letter might include something important so I grabbed it and dashed out the room and down the stairs. However, just as I reached the bottom, I saw a swish of a black coat and the door shut in front of me. I ran towards it but it was locked. Frantically I tried to pick the lock, but it was nearly too late. The alarm went off from the bomb announcing 10 seconds. I pushed and puller and scraped at the lock. 9, I wrapped two pieces of broken wood from the floor and sharpened them. 8, I used them to try and unpick the lock praying that it would work. 7 it was working, but much two slowly. 6, I was panicking, my whole body burst into cold sweat. 5, I had given up hope. 4, It was all over. 3 I had a burst of strength and rammed myself into the door, 2 the lock had cracked, I swung the door open and dashed outside, 1 I squeezed through the gate and crawled behind a large oak tree. 0, An explosion of fire rocketed out of the house. Furniture, flooring, chunks of wall flew everywhere and everything went black.


I woke up as the sun was setting, drenched and covered in scorch marks and debris. I immediately felt a sharp pain in my naked and many cuts and scratches across my body. However, I was alive. I couldn’t believe I had survived the explosion. I needed to get back home. Not that anyone would be worried about me. My parents would probably be amused at me getting blown up. However, I needed a doctor and I wanted to read what the letter said.


After getting back home and having a cool shower. I went to my room and shut my door. It was now dark so I switched on my reading lamp and pulled the note gently out of my pocket. I spread to out on my desk and read what it said.


If you are reading this, the bomb has been placed,

The hunt has begun for the riches,

Take fortune, glory and achievement.

7 teams participate.

1 bomber, 1 burger and 1 mistake.

Let The Westing Games Begin.


I fainted.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page