top of page

Adapting 'Ready Player One'

Updated: Mar 1, 2019

0001 CONTINUED


I roll out of my so-called bed, rubbing my aching eyes from the amount of sleep I didn’t get. I was still shaking from the gunfire, but continued out of the laundry room door and into the small hallway. It was lined with the many doors to many different bedrooms where many people were still sleeping.


It was eight in the morning and I noticed my aunt at the end of the hall shovelling a spoonful of Lucky Charms into her mouth. But, before I could walk any further...my eyes turn to black as someone punched me square in the face. I fall to the floor; my aunt screaming at the top of her lungs. She ran over to where I lay.

“WADE!” She exclaims, holding back whoever hit me from coming into contact with me again.


Ronald.


Ronald is my aunt’s boyfriend…or was. She met him on an online party close to the headquarters of the OASIS. Personally, I believe him to be nothing but useless. He lives off of me and my aunt…the only ones actually doing anything about getting some money for us to even be living in this stack.


“Why are you hitting Wade?" My aunt screams. "Ronald explain yourself…now!” My aunt continued to shout. I stumble to get up as my hand covered my swelling eye. That hurt.

“This kid is not supposed to be shooting me in the game Alice! I lost coin due to his stupid little stunt!” He bellows, the crackle of his low voice coming out from the many cigarettes he smokes.

“Doesn’t mean you get to punch me! You wouldn’t even survive a clan attack if it came at you, you reloader!” I exclaim, earning me another punch straight to the mouth.

“No...NO!” My aunt pushes Ron away...turning to me with fury in her eyes.

“What did you pull on him in the game Wade? Tell me right now!”

“Alright, alright! I-I just installed a Pac-Man download into my library. I-I might have made him get chased by Pac-Man...as if he were one of those little white Tic-Tacs like in the original game” I shrug, tugging on the cloth of my shirt to dab my split lip.

I felt no shame...it was totally worth it.


My aunt muttered something under her breath walking back over to Ron, and grabbed him by the ear.

“You never touch my boy again! Grow up Ron. I mean seriously, Pac-Man? Get a grip!” Alice screams, with Ron looking over at me as I started laughing at his expense.

“You shut it Wade! We will discuss this later tonight, Alice. In the meantime, I’m going to get some grub ” Ron says, pushing Alice off of him as he headed toward the front door.

“Reloader” I mutter to myself again as he slammed the door behind him.

Alice scoffs...leaving me in the middle of the hallway with bruised eyes and bruised lips.


I was ready to get back online into the OASIS. Maybe I could get Donkey Kong to put him out of his misery this time around?

As amazing as that sounds...first things first: Lucky Charms.


Written by Camryn Durante

13 views1 comment
bottom of page